Join us on Facebook
Loch Awe

Lochawe Community Website Association

The aim of the Loch Awe Community Website Association (LACWA) is to manage provision of a website available to clubs, associations, organizations, businesses and individuals in the area surrounding Loch Awe and its immediate environs; to manage electronic mail services for any of these bodies who require it and have no means of accessing mail for themselves; and to provide internet access via a community access point for individuals in the area to use the internet for recreational or research purposes.

Covering the area of the parish of Glenorchy and Innishail and including the villages of Bridge of Orchy, Dalmally, Eredine, Lochawe and Portsonachan, the community website went live on 8 April 1999 after many months of preparation (as outlined in the Minutes of the November 1999 AGM, below). The annual maintenance fee paid by businesses that have a presence on the website ensures that community organizations have an entry free of charge and also makes it possible to include a wealth of historical and local information.

The main instigator of the website was Kenneth A. Baird of Loch Awe Stores, who was Chairman of LACWA until his death in June 2004. In remembrance of his contribution, LACWA established the Ken Baird Memorial Trophy, which is presented annually at the Dalmally Show for the best photograph in one of the classes of the Children's Section (under 16).

The Internet Access Point is housed at Loch Awe Stores in Lochawe and is available for use by members of the community, visitors and holidaymakers. Fax and photocopying facilities are also available.

LACWA produces a local telephone directory covering Ardbrecknish, Bridge of Orchy, Cladich, Dalmally, Eredine, Lochawe, Portsonachan and Stronmilchan. Copies are available in local shops or from any committee member.

Members of the Committee are:-

Bridge of Orchy
Chair: John Kerr

Steve Beesley

Sarah Sturt

South Lochaweside
Catriona O'Keeffe
Anne Rae

To see the Constitution and Minutes of Annual General Meetings, click on the links below:

Constitution & Rules.
AGM 2009
AGM 2010
AGM 2015 

Design by Pole Position